Saints centre Hutchinson misses out on place in Scotland squad

Rory HutchinsonRory Hutchinson
Rory Hutchinson
Saints centre Rory Hutchinson has missed out on a place in Scotland's Six Nations squad.

But there is good news for Dan Biggar who, as expected, will be part of Wales' plans for the tournament, which starts next month.

Biggar is named in a 36-man group for Wales, who start with a home game against Ireland on February 7.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

But Hutchinson will be staying with Saints as he has not made the cut, despite a recent upturn in form for his club.

The 24-year-old pulled the strings in the Boxing Day success against Worcester Warriors.

But Scotland boss Gregor Townsend has opted to select the likes of Cameron Redpath, Chris Harris and Duncan Taylor in his 35-man group.

Earlier in the week, Biggar had led calls for Hutchinson to be included by Scotland.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

Biggar had said: "My own personal opinion for what it's worth is that Scotland should pick Rory at 12 and stick with him for the Six Nations.

"You don't want to pick Rory for one game and if he makes half a mistake he's out again.

"We're playing Scotland on the second weekend of the Six Nations and the person I wouldn't want lining up against me is Rory Hutchinson, along with Finn Russell's skills as well.

"The way he makes a second playmaker look so easy is a skill in istelf.

Hide Ad
Hide Ad

"I would like to see him get backed to say 'you've got the ability, you're in the side and you've proved it over the past couple of years, go and do what you can do and show everyone how good you are'.

"You know you may get the odd defensive mistake from Rory and he knows that's something he's got to work on, but with the ball in hand and with the game Scotland will want to play, I'd be more worried about Rory playing against us than perhaps some other players."

Wales squad: Forwards: Rhys Carre (Cardiff Blues) (12 Caps), Wyn Jones (Scarlets) (30 Caps), Rhodri Jones (Ospreys) (17 Caps), Elliot Dee (Dragons) (33 Caps), Ryan Elias (Scarlets) (17 Caps), Ken Owens (Scarlets) (77 Caps), Leon Brown (Dragons) (12 Caps), Tomas Francis (Exeter Chiefs) (52 Caps), Dillon Lewis (Cardiff Blues) (28 Caps), Jake Ball (Scarlets) (49 Caps), Adam Beard (Ospreys) (21 Caps), Alun Wyn Jones (Ospreys) (143 Caps), Will Rowlands (Wasps) (5 Caps), Cory Hill (Cardiff Blues) (29 Caps), Dan Lydiate (Ospreys) (62 Caps), Josh Navidi (Cardiff Blues) (24 Caps), Aaron Wainwright (Dragons) (27 Caps), Taulupe Faletau (Bath) (81 Caps), Josh MacLeod (Scarlets) (*Uncapped), Justin Tipuric (Ospreys) (80 Caps). Backs: Gareth Davies (Scarlets) (57 Caps), Tomos Williams (Cardiff Blues) (20 Caps), Kieran Hardy (Scarlets) (2 Caps), Dan Biggar (Saints) (87 Caps), Callum Sheedy (Bristol Bears) (4 Caps), Jarrod Evans (Cardiff Blues) (6 Caps), Johnny Williams (Scarlets) (2 Caps), Jonathan Davies (Scarlets) (85 Caps), Nick Tompkins (Dragons) (8 Caps), Owen Watkin (Ospreys) (25 Caps), George North (Ospreys) (98 Caps), Josh Adams (Cardiff Blues) (29 Caps), Hallam Amos (Cardiff Blues) (22 Caps), Louis Rees-Zammit (Gloucester) (4 Caps), Leigh Halfpenny (Scarlets) (93 Caps), Liam Williams (Scarlets) (67 Caps).

Scotland squad: Forwards: Ewan Ashman (Sale Sharks) (uncapped), Simon Berghan (Edinburgh) (28 caps), David Cherry (Edinburgh) (uncapped), Alex Craig (Gloucester) (uncapped), Scott Cummings (Glasgow Warriors) (17 caps), Allan Dell (London Irish) (32 caps), Matt Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) (9 caps), Zander Fagerson (Glasgow Warriors) (34 caps), Gary Graham (Newcastle Falcons) (2 caps), Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh) (42 caps), Jonny Gray (Exeter Chiefs) (61 caps), Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors) (65 caps), Oli Kebble (Glasgow Warriors) (5 caps), Willem Nel (Edinburgh) (40 caps), Jamie Ritchie (Edinburgh) (23 caps), Grant Stewart (Glasgow Warriors) (3 caps), Rory Sutherland (Edinburgh) (11 caps), Blade Thomson (Scarlets) (9 caps), George Turner (Glasgow Warriors) (12 caps), Hamish Watson (Edinburgh) (36 caps). Backs: Darcy Graham (Edinburgh) (15 caps), Chris Harris (Gloucester) (23 caps), Stuart Hogg (Exeter Chiefs) (80 caps), Huw Jones (Glasgow Warriors) (26 caps), Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh) (25 caps), James Lang (Harlequins) (5 caps), Sean Maitland (Saracens) (50 caps), Byron McGuigan (Sale Sharks) (10 caps), Ali Price (Glasgow Warriors) (37 caps), Cameron Redpath (Bath Rugby) (uncapped), Finn Russell (Racing 92) (51 caps), Scott Steele (Harlequins) (1 cap), Duncan Taylor (Saracens) (28 caps), Jaco van der Walt (Edinburgh) (1 cap), Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh) (5 caps).

Comment Guidelines

National World encourages reader discussion on our stories. User feedback, insights and back-and-forth exchanges add a rich layer of context to reporting. Please review our Community Guidelines before commenting.