Northampton Saints v Sale Sharks: Team news for Saturday's game at Franklin's Gardens

Teimana Harrison has recovered from injury and will start for Saints against Sale Sharks at Franklin's Gardens on Saturday afternoon (kick-off 2.45pm).

Friday, 12th March 2021, 12:04 pm
Updated Friday, 12th March 2021, 12:06 pm
Teimana Harrison

Harrison has not played since the win against Worcester Warriors on Boxing Day due to a hand injury and a groin problem, but he is fit to face the Sharks this weekend.

Lewis Ludlam is also available having been forced off due to concussion during the first half at Harlequins last Sunday, while Tom Wood switches from No.8 to wear the six shirt.

Alex Waller returns at loosehead, while Reece Marshall replaces Sam Matavesi at hooker.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Alex Moon comes in for Api Ratuniyarawa, who is among the replacements.

James Grayson is given the nod at fly-half as George Furbank reverts to full-back, with Tommy Freeman moving to the wing.

Ollie Sleightholme came off last weekend shortly after scoring a stunning try, but the talented wing is able to start against Sale.

Piers Francis returns from a dead leg and takes the place of Rory Hutchinson at inside centre.

Nick Isiekwe misses out due to concussion, while Matt Proctor remains sidelined with a calf problem.

Shaun Adendorff (knee), Owen Franks (foot), Danny Hobbs-Awoyemi (Achilles), Courtney Lawes (pectoral) and Kayde Sylvester (Achilles) are also on the injured list.

David Ribbans, Alex Mitchell and Dan Biggar, who starts for Wales against Italy in Rome this weekend, are all on international duty.

Sale have made eight changes to their starting 15 after beating Newcastle Falcons at the AJ Bell Stadium last weekend.

A shift in the Sharks forwards sees Ross Harrison and Akker van der Merwe join Will-Griff John in an experienced Sale front row.

Cobus Wiese switches from flanker to lock and joins Lood de Jager in an all-South African second row.

Jean-Luc du Preez returns to take his place alongside twin brother Daniel and club captain Jono Ross and in the back row.

Faf de Klerk and AJ McGinty secure the nine and 10 shirts and will have a familiar pairing of Sam Hill and Sam James at their disposal in midfield.

Arron Reed makes his first appearance this season and the speedy wing is joined in the back three by Scotland international Byron McGuigan and Simon Hammersley.

Saints: Furbank; Freeman, Dingwall, Francis, Sleightholme; Grayson, James; Waller (cc), Marshall, Painter; Moon, Coles; Wood, Ludlam (cc), Harrison.

Replacements: Haywood, Auterac, Hill, Ratuniyarawa, Tonks, Taylor, Hutchinson, Mallinder.

Sale Sharks: Hammersley; McGuigan, S James, Hill, Reed; MacGinty, De Klerk; Harrison, van der Merwe, John; Wiese, De Jager, JL du Preez, Ross (c), D du Preez.

Replacements: Langdon, Rodd, Oosthuizen, Beaumont, Dugdale, Quirke, R du Preez, Roebuck.