Search for the stars at Northampton General Hospital appeals for your nominations

Nominations are now open for a range of awards celebrating the outstanding achievements of employees and volunteers of Northampton General Hospital.

Tuesday, 31st May 2016, 6:25 am
Northampton General Hospital

Members of the public can vote in any of the ten categories in the NGH Best Possible Care Awards. The awards recognise individuals or teams that make a real difference, go the extra mile to improve patients’ experience or contribute to improvements in the care and safety of patients.

Nominations can be made either for an outstanding individual or for a team who have made a special contribution.

There are ten award categories for individuals and teams, staff and volunteers:

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Unsung hero

The unsung hero awards celebrate the heart and soul of NGH. These awards go to individuals who go above and beyond the call of duty to ensure our patients receive the best possible care, or do ensure their colleagues are respected and fully supported so they are able to provide the best possible care.

Outstanding contribution

This award recognises an individual or team who has inspired or brought about clear and demonstrable outcomes; who has worked above and beyond the call of duty in their service to patients.

Team of the year (clinical and non-clinical)

The team awards recognise teams that provide consistent, high quality, safe and effective care while continuing to meet financial and operational targets. These demonstrate best practice and/or drive forward improvements in patient care, or they will have introduced a change in approach that has led to improvements in financial or operational performance. Or they may have pulled together through particularly difficult circumstances

Volunteer of the year

The volunteer of the year award recognises individuals who go the extra mile to help and support our patients, their relatives and our staff; acting as an advocate and offering a voice for patients.

Patient experience award

This award is presented to an individual or team who place the patient’s experience at the heart of all they do. They demonstrate that they have listened and acted on patient feedback to improve both the service they provide and the patient experience. They place the patient’s experience at the heart of their practice, working proactively and positively in partnership with patients, relatives, carers, staff and services.

Patient safety

The patient safety award is presented to an individual or team who exhibits best practice in providing safe care, or who has openly raised awareness of safety issues, championed transparency or introduced new ways of working to a service or treatment that has improved patient safety

Innovation in practice

This award recognises an individual or team that has introduced new, innovative practice or an innovative scheme during the year that has made a significant improvement to services, systems or processes.

Clinical educator of the year

This award is presented to an individual or team that demonstrates excellence in providing and supporting high quality education

For more information about the awards, visit