Northampton Town Council elections 2021: All the results for every ward in your area - and a few parish councils

The full list of election results for town council and parish councils across the region

Saturday, 8th May 2021, 10:45 am
Updated Tuesday, 11th May 2021, 9:25 am

The Labour Party has taken control of Northampton Town Council after the first ever election count today (Saturday, May 7).

In total, 17 Labour, seven Conservative and one Liberal Democrat councillors have been elected after the historic poll on Thursday.

Jane Birch, who was elected for Trinity ward for Labour and was the leader of her group on the shadow council, said she is really excited for the town council's future as the voice for Northampton.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Six of the new Labour members of Northampton Town Council

"It's a town where the local residents have lost sight of the wonderful things that are in town and the wonderful buildings and they've forgotten the history," she told the Chronicle & Echo.

"So we need to bring that back to people's consciences and make them understand what a rich environment it is and hopefully we will beable to speak up for Northampton.

The new council was set up as part of the local government review for Northamptonshire, with Northampton Borough Council being abolished after 47 years on March 31.

The town council - the largest of its kind in the country - will be responsible for a range of services that the new unitary authority, West Northamptonshire Council, does not do like allotments, cemeteries and the mayoralty.

Northampton Town Council's first ever elected councillor Turon Miah, for Headlands ward

New Conservative councillor for Parklands, Mike Hallam said he was absolutely delighted to be elected having been elected yesterday for West Northamptonshire Council too.

"I think we have got some really good community champions elected and we're looking forward to working together one the new town council," he said.

"I think people are going to get behind them on the town council and we've preserved the things we wanted to preserve like the Guildhall and the mayoralty so these are exciting new times across the piece."

Northampton Town Council's only Liberal Democrat councillor, Dennis Meredith, who won in Talavera, hopes the authority will not be party-political and work collaboratively to improve the town.

New mayor Rufia Ashraf was elected for St James ward at Northampton Town Council

He added that he hopes to eradicate fly-tipping in Talavera and is looking forward to serving as deputy mayor this year before becoming mayor in 2022.

Here are the full results:

Abington (two seats):

Tony Ansell (Conservative) - 689

Conservative ward member for Parklands on Northampton Town Council, Mike Hallam

Bob Purser (Labour) - 1,246 ELECTED

John Schultes (Con) - 539

Walter Wlodek Tarasiewicz (Lab) - 1,045 ELECTED

James Robert Tarry (Liberal Democrats) - 377

Turnout: 30.52per cent


Liberal Democrat ward member for Talavera on Northampton Town Council, Dennis Meredith

Ian Paul Churms (Lab) - 385

Jamie William Lane (Con) - 892 ELECTED

Turnout: 37.91 per cent

Briar Hill:

Raymond Connelly (Con) - 443 ELECTED

Ben Francoise (Lab) - 398

Turnout: 27.59 per cent


Naz Choudary (Lab) - 595 ELECTED

Imogen McKee (Con) - 450

Turnout: 26.48 per cent

Castle (three seats):

Jamal Alwahabi (Lab) - 1,528 ELECTED

Daniel Bell Batten (Con) - 654

Maqsood Ahmed Chaudhry (Con) - 518

Enam Haque (Lab) - 1,492 ELECTED

Maroof Iftikhar (Con) - 434

Fartun Ismail (Lab) - 1,443 ELECTED

Turnout: 23.41 per cent


Mobola Bakare (Con) - 436

Paul Joyce (Lab) - 600 ELECTED

Tom Lawler (Lib Dem) - 197

Turnout: 32.58 per cent


Derry Owen Collins (Lib Dem) - 250

Turon Miah (Lab) - 592 ELECTED

Aziz Rahman (Con) - 394

Turnout: 32.37 per cent

Kings Heath:

Paul Leslie Clark (Con) - 265

Terrie Eales (Lab) - 458 ELECTED

Turnout: 20.9 per cent


Lori Gale-Rumens (Con) - 453

Cathrine Russell (Lab) - 773 ELECTED

Turnout: 30 per cent


Gary Campbell (Lab) - 425

David Garlick (Lib Dem) - 290

Andrew Cameron Kilbride (Con) - 1,102 ELECTED

Turnout: per cent


Mike Hallam (Con) - 1,030 ELECTED

Koulla Jolley (Lab) - 395

Turnout: 39 per cent


Ifty Choudary (Con) - 390

Martin Thomas Sawyer (Lib Dem) - 321

Andrew Stevens (Lab) - 584 ELECTED

Turnout: per cent: 41.43 per cent

Rectory Farm:

James William Hill (Con) - 601

Keith Holland-Delamere (Lab) - 621 ELECTED

Turnout: 32.64 per cent


Stephen John Hibbert (Con) - 491 ELECTED

Jean Helena Lineker (Independent Person Caring for the People) - 214

Matthew McNicholas (Lab) - 375

Turnout: 30.27 per cent


Daniel George Soan (Con) - 586 ELECTED

Danielle Stone (Lab) - 516

Turnout: 40.19 per cent


Gregg Lunn (Con) - 255

Les Marriott (Lab) - 586 ELECTED

Turnout: 21.12 per cent


Gareth Matthew Eales (Lab) - 978 ELECTED

Suresh Patel (Con) - 331

Turnout: 32.57 per cent

St James:

Rufia Ashraf (Lab) - 655 ELECTED

Graham Neil Croucher (Resident of St James) - 474

Brian Sargeant (Con) - 401

Turnout: 29.48 per cent

Talavera (two seats):

Lorraine Chirisa (Lab) - 751 ELECTED

Taylor Luke Cowley-Coulton (Con) - 581

Janice Helen Duffy (Lab) - 718

Ash Harkara (Con) - 479

Dennis William George Meredith (Lib Dem) - 842 ELECTED

Turnout: 27.18 per cent


Nahar Begum (Con) - 258

Jane Birch (Lab) - 517 ELECTED

James William Edward Thorpe (Independent Network) - 170

Turnout: 30.01 per cent


Toby Birch (Lab) - 428

Michael Brown (Con) - 560 ELECTED

Brian Markham (Lib Dem) - 383

Turnout: 39.17 per cent

Also counted are parish council votes in Billing, Boddington Upper, Brackley, Chipping Warden & Edgcote, Cogenhoe, Culworth, Daventry, Denton, Flore, Greens Norton, Hackleton, Kingsthorpe, Milton Malsor, Newbottle, Syresham, Towcester, Watford and Weedon Bec.

Labour ward member for Talavera on Northampton Town Council, Lorraine Chirisa
Labour ward member for Trinity on Northampton Town Council, Jane Birch
Labour ward member for Castle on Northampton Town Council, Enam Haque
Labour ward member for Castle on Northampton Town Council, Jamal Alwahabi