COUNTY ELECTIONS: Everyone standing for Northampton in next month's new unitary council elections

Northamptonshire has been divided into two unitary authorities. Here is everyone standing for a local seat in Northampton

Friday, 9th April 2021, 3:15 pm
Updated Friday, 9th April 2021, 3:16 pm
The list of candidates standing in Northampton for the West Northamptonshire Unitary Council elections has been published.

The candidates standing for Northampton in next month's local elections have been announced.

On April 1, the seven local authorities for Northamptonshire were dissolved and reestablished as two unitary councils - West Northamptonshire and North Northamptonshire.

It also means local elections have to be held for the county's wards, with polling day set for May 6.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Read More

Read More
It's go, go, go for the new West Northamptonshire Council election count

The elections have been a long time coming. The 2019 vote was put back by the decision to reform as the two unitary authorities, while an election planned for last year was delayed by the coronavirus pandemic.

Voters across Daventry District, Northampton and South Northants will go to the polls on Thursday 6 May to vote for people to represent them on the new West Northamptonshire Council, as well as to elect town and parish councillors and the county’s next Police, Fire and Crime Commissioner.

Hundreds of candidates will be waiting to discover whether they have secured one of the 93 seats on the new West Northamptonshire Council during the first count on Friday 7 May.

The counting of votes for town and parish council elections - including the new Northampton Town Council - will take place the following day (Saturday, 8 May), while the West Northamptonshire votes for the Police, Fire and Crime Commissioner election will be counted on the Monday (10 May) before the results are sent to Kettering where the winning candidate will be declared.

Abington & Phippsville

Nahar Begum - Con.

Ifty Choudary - Con.

Bob Purser - Lab.

Sharon Sawyer - Lib Dem.

John Jospeh Chultes - Con.

Ashley Scott - Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition

Zoe Smith - Lab.

Walter Wlodek Tarasiewicz - Lab.

James Robert Tarry - Lib Dems.

Billing & Rectory Farm

Paul Leslie Clark - Con.

James William Hill - Con.

Keith Holland-Delamere - Lab.

Aktar Hussein - Lib Dem.

Dilip Kumar - Lab.

Victoria Jane Perry - Con.

Dan Powis - Lab.

Boothville & Parklands

Ray Beasley - British National Party

Christine Louisa Fitchett - Lab.

Mike Hallam - Con.

Terrence Anthony Roy Haynes-Smith - Lab.

Jamie William Lane - Con.

Irene Patricia Markham - Lib Dem.

Laura Emily Stevenson - Con.

Roger Ward - Lab.

Edward Phillip Ian Whittaker - Independent


Jamal Alwahabi - Lab.

Daniel Bell Batten - Con.

Maqsood Ahmed Chaudary - Con.

Enam Haque - Lab.

Julie Hawkins - Green

Maroof Iftikhar - Con.

Katie Simpson - Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition

Danielle Stone - Lab.

Martin Taylor - Lib Dems.

Dallington Spencer

Rufia Ashraf - Lab,

Harry Bowden - Lib Dem.

Gareth - Eales - Lab.

Terrie Eales - Lab.

Victor Graham-Hole - Con.

Aruna Patel - Con.

Chintubhai Lalitkumar Shah - Con.

Delapre & Rushmere

Raymond Connolly - Con.

Charlene Celina Cranstoun - Lab.

Julie Davenport - Independent

Richard Harold Matthews - Lib Dem.

Emma Louise Roberts - Lab.

Fiona Seymour - Lab.

Paul Michael Slater - Green

Seamus Smyth - Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition

Daniel George Soan - Con.

Lesley Wollnough - Con.

Duston East

Michael Beardsworth - Lib Dem.

Vincent Peter Clive - Heritage Party

Paul Stuart Dyball - Con.

Dave Green - Northampton Save Our Services

Nigel Leslie Hinch - Con.

Alan Roger Kingston - Lab.

Greg Lunn - Con.

Sandie Maitland - Lab.

Robert Pettitt - Lab.

Barbara Walder - Independent

Duston West & St Crispin

Julia Lynne Georgiou - Lib Dem.

Matthew John Golby - Con.

Stephen John Harley - Lib Dem.

Mike Hills - Lab.

Mike Ingram - Independent.

Anna King - Con.

Scott Skye Mabbutt - Green.

Jake Roberts - Con.

East Hunsbury & Shelfleys

Pinder Chauhan - Con.

Andre Gonzalez De Savage - Con.

Suresh Patel - Con.

Paul Anthony Schofield - Lib Dem.

Andy Vincent - Labour and Co-operative Party

Michael Walsh - Lib Dem.


Mark Timothy Allenby - Grenn

Mobola Bakare - Con.

Harrison Cairns - Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition

Taylor Luke Cowley-Coulton - Con.

Carl John Guest - Lib Dem.

Mark Hughes - Con.

Koulla Jolley - Lab.

Paul Joyce - Lab.

Steve Kent - Green

Turon Miah - Lab.

Martin Thomas Sawyer - Lib Dem.

Stephen Robert Tomlinson - Lib Dem.

Kingsthorpe North

Titus Ajayi - Lab.

Mamun Ali - Lab.

Thomas Appleyard - Northamptonshire Independents working for Kingsthope North

Mohammed Aziz - Con.

Jon Biggs - Lib Dem.

Michael Brown - Con.

Lorraine Sharon Keane - Lab.

Steve Miller - Green

Paul Phoenix Powerville - Green

Sam Rumens - Con.

Chris Willis - Green

Kingsthorpe South

Harry Michael Patrick Barrett - Lab.

Sally Beardsworth - Lib Dem

Quang Dinh - Con.

Cheryl Hawes - Con

Fartun Ismail - Lab.

Rauf Khan - Lab.

Elaine Mary Miller - Green

Arthur John Newbury - Con.

Stewart Graham Allen Tolley - Lib Dem.

Tony Woods - Lib Dem.

Nene Valley

Samuel Isra Akbur - Lab.

Lizzy Bowen - Con.

Leila Gilli - Lib Dem.

Phil Larratt - Con.

Jonathan Nunn - Con.

Hilary Judith Wilson - Green

Riverside Park

Penelope Ann Flavell - Con.

David Garlick - Lib Dem.

Stephen John Hibbert - Con.

Gill Higginson - Lab.

Andrew Cameron Kilbride - Con.

Matthew McNicholas - Lab.

Rittik Roy - Lab.


Lorraine Chirisa - Lab.

Imran Ahmen Chowdhury - Con.

Graham Croucher - Lab.

Karen Helm - Lab.

Jill Susan Hope - Lib Dem.

Tom Lawler - Lib Dem.

Brian Sargeant - Con.

Carl Neville Mark Squires - Lib Dem.

Nick Sturges-Alex - Con.

St George

Gary Austin - Con.

Cali Muna - Labour and Co-operative Party

Lori Gale-Rumens - Con.

Sam Kilby-Shaw - Con.

Dumitru Manole - Trade Unionist and Socialist Coalition

Cathrine Ruseell - Labour and Co-operative Party

Winston Allister Strachan - Labourand Co-operative Party

Elizabeth Jane Marianne Taylor - Lib Dem.

James William Edward Thorpe - Independent Network


Naz Choudary - Lab.

Janice Duffy - Lab.

Brendan John Glynane - Lib Dem.

Shannon Hallam - Con

Ash Harkara - Con.

Marianne Kimani - Lab.

Kasia Kujawska - Con.

Dennis Meredith - Lib Dem.

Rona Meredith - Lib Dem.