Saints star Burrell gets England call

Luther Burrell was in action at Kingston Park on Sunday (picture: Kirsty Edmonds)
Luther Burrell was in action at Kingston Park on Sunday (picture: Kirsty Edmonds)

Luther Burrell has been handed an England recall - and the Saints centre joined up with the Six Nations squad on Sunday night.

Burrell, who has 13 caps to his name, has not played for his country since the World Cup warm-up match in France on August 22 last year.

He was cut from the squad for the tournament on home soil at the last minute, with Sam Burgess and Henry Slade preferred to the Saints star.

Eddie Jones then replaced Stuart Lancaster as England head coach ahead of the Six Nations, but Burrell was not recalled.

However, he has done enough in recent weeks to impress the Australian, who has brought the 28-year-old back into the fold.

Burrell replaces Bath’s Ollie Devoto, who sustained concussion in his club’s defeat to Wasps on Saturday afternoon.

Burrell started for Saints in their 26-25 defeat at Newcastle Falcons on Sunday and was forced to head straight down the motorway after the game to link up with England.

He will now hope to impress in training ahead of Saturday’s Six Nations clash with Ireland at Twickenham.

England, who are being captained by Dylan Hartley and also have Paul Hill and Courtney Lawes in their squad, have won their opening two matches, in Scotland and Italy.

And they will hope to keep dreams of a Grand Slam alive this weekend.

A total of 32 players assembled at Pennyhill Park on Sunday evening, with Kieran Brookes also in the group.

England: Brookes (Saints), Cole (Leicester Tigers), Cowan-Dickie (Exeter Chiefs), Clifford (Harlequins), George (Saracens), Hartley (Saints), Haskell (Wasps), Hill (Saints), Itoje (Saracens), Kruis (Saracens), Kvesic (Gloucester Rugby), Launchbury (Wasps), Lawes (Saints), Marler (Harlequins), Mullan (Wasps), Robshaw (Harlequins), B Vunipola (Saracens), M Vunipola (Saracens); Brown (Harlequins), Burrell (Saints), Care (Harlequins), Daly (Wasps), Farrell (Saracens), Ford (Bath Rugby), Goode (Saracens), Hill (Exeter Chiefs), Joseph (Bath Rugby), Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Rokoduguni (Bath Rugby), Watson (Bath Rugby), Yarde (Harlequins), Youngs (Leicester Tigers).