Saints quintet train with England ahead of Ireland showdown

Five Saints stars are training with England in the build-up to the huge Six Nations showdown with Ireland in Dublin on Saturday evening (kick-off 5pm).

Monday, 13th March 2017, 12:33 am
Updated Friday, 24th March 2017, 10:53 am
Tom Wood and Paul Hill are part of the England squad preparing for Saturday's crunch clash with Ireland

Dylan Hartley, who captained England to a record-equalling 18th successive Test win in the 61-21 victory against Scotland at Twickenham last Saturday, Courtney Lawes, Tom Wood, Paul Hill and Teimana Harrison are all currently at Pennyhill Park.

The Saints quintet are part of a 31-man group who will hope to help their country get preparations right for the big battle in Ireland.

England, who have already been crowned Six Nations champions, are seeking a second successive Grand Slam and will be keen to become record breakers.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Hartley and Lawes started in Saturday's victory against Scotland, with Wood coming off the bench during the second half.

Hill and Harrison look unlikely to be involved at the Aviva Stadium this weekend, but they are still playing a part in their country's bid for glory.

Saints will welcome all of their international players back at the conclusion of this weekend as the club gets set for the big east midlands derby against Leicester Tigers at Franklin's Gardens on March 25.

England's 31-man training squad: Forwards: Josh Beaumont (Sale Sharks), Dan Cole (Leicester Tigers), Jamie George (Saracens), Teimana Harrison (Saints), Dylan Hartley (Saints), James Haskell (Wasps), Paul Hill (Saints), Nathan Hughes (Wasps), Maro Itoje (Saracens), Joe Launchbury (Wasps), Courtney Lawes (Saints), Joe Marler (Harlequins), Kyle Sinckler (Harlequins), Tommy Taylor (Wasps), Billy Vunipola (Saracens), Mako Vunipola (Saracens), Tom Wood (Saints); Backs: Mike Brown (Harlequins), Danny Care (Harlequins), Elliot Daly (Wasps), Owen Farrell (Saracens), George Ford (Bath Rugby), Jonathan Joseph (Bath Rugby), Alex Lozowski (Saracens), Jonny May (Gloucester Rugby), Jack Nowell (Exeter Chiefs), Henry Slade (Exeter Chiefs), Ben Te’o (Worcester Warriors), Anthony Watson (Bath Rugby), Marland Yarde (Harlequins), Ben Youngs (Leicester Tigers)