GOLF: Woan beats Myers to title of top amateur

Northants County's Rachel Smith
Northants County's Rachel Smith

Overstone Park’s Harry Woan was the leading amateur at the NGU Open at Northants County GC.

Woan carded 145 to nudge one ahead of home club member Matt Myers.

Wellingborough’s Ryan Evans emphasised his status as one of the leading professionals in the region as he won the competition by one stroke.

Golf Partnership

Juniors have one more opportunity to improve their score in the Northants Golf Partnership Order of Merit as they compete in the last qualifier at Kingsthorpe on Sunday, October 4.

With Grand Final spots to be claimed in the net and gross categories at Northants County on Wednesday, October 29, Luis Witherall (Cherwell Edge) leads the boys, while Rayner Edwards is the best girl.

Anyone wishing to play in the competition at Kingsthorpe is advised to contact the club shop on Northampton 719602.

European Tour Q School

County professionals Kyson Lloyd and David Poolton couldn’t make the most of home advantage in the first round of European Tour Q School as they both missed out at Collingtree Park.

Wellingborough’s Lloyd carded scores of 76, 73 and 70, before finishing with a 76, while Collingtree’s Poolton failed to make the cut after shooting 76, 80 and 77.

County Ladies

Wellingborough’s Becky MacLaren shot her first ever level par round to win the NLCGA Bouverie Bowl by 10 shots in dreadful weather conditions at Northants County GC.

MacLaren finished well clear of Alison Irvine (Northampton). Home member Gillian Curley took the best gross with an 81.

Scratch League

Peterborough Milton kept their Scratch League title ambitions alive with a 5-3 home victory against defending champions Northants County.

Milton went two up before Martin Conley (2&1) responded by grabbing an away point.

With County youngsters Sam Henfrey and Matt Myers in control of the last two ties, the match remained in the balance.

Needing a draw to clinch the title, County were unable to bag another point.

The two sides will now go head-to-head in the reverse fixture this weekend as Milton chase the victory which will guarantee their fourth Scratch League title in five seasons.

Ladies Scratch League

Rachel Smith grabbed the decisive point for Northants County against reigning champions Wellingborough at Overstone Park GC as they secured their first Ladies Scratch League title since 1999.

Smith beat Carol Gibbs on the first extra hole to make sure of the crown.

Hellidon Lakes

Paul Craig was crowned club champion after rounds of 76 and 77 earned him a three-stroke victory from Paul Upfield and Tom Laver.

Kevin Lovell (177) clinched the second division by two from Malcolm Gregory, while Steve Trotman was a comfortable winner of the Hellidon Scut as a tally of 43 points lifted him five ahead of Peter Wallace and David Stanford.


Wes Houghton and Mark Smith combined well in the Ashby Fourball Betterball Bogey competition as they beat the course by nine holes. Kev Purkis and Lee O’Connor were second after finishing eight up.

In the latest mixed match, Kingsthorpe found top gear as they defeated Market Harborough 5½-1½.

Brampton Heath

Three points was the difference first and second in the Order of Merit Series Final as Jim Giles (52) held off the challenge of Ricky Stockwell. Mark Halliday (48) was third.

In the Plate competition, Kevin Reeson (42) enjoyed a five-point advantage from Steve Crane, with bStephen Holt in third spot on 36.

Cherwell Edge

Graham Collett needed countback to get the better of Lee Phillips in the September Stableford after both came in with the leading mark of 39 points.

It was a similar story in the second and third divisions as Clive Baker and Chris Tuzzio took the respectively honours with 37 and 38 points apiece.

Overstone Park

Matt Evans got the better of James Barker in the Scratch Knockout final, while Billy Druce beat Colin White in the Daro final.

Taylor Sargeant and James Poulton combined perfectly in the Wright Trophy final as they defeated Jamie Newton and Dale Burton.


Jamie Cordiner and Martin Cordiner were the outstanding combination in the Fred Coleman Pairs event as they bagged a winning tally of 46 points.

Alan Picketts and Brian Seal (44) were runners-up, while Anne Wright won the Ladies Autumn Stableford with 36 points.


Ian Machell’s 42 points were more than enough to win the Vets September Stableford as he finished four ahead of Ken James, Chris Pendlebury, Peter Hallford and Roy Patrick.

Cold Ashby

Tom Marshall beat Terry Jackson on countback in the September Midweek Stableford after both men finished one ahead of Jim Burberry with 37 points.


Peter Basham’s better finish proved vital in the NAGS September Stableford as he beat Graham Truby on countback with 38 points.


Christopher Thomas picked up the John Morgan Trophy after shooting the best score of 41 points. Richard Marsh (39) took second by one from Andy Morgan.