GOLF - CLUB NEWS: Sewell’s strong finish seals Higgs success

Andy Sewell with the Higgs Bowl
Andy Sewell with the Higgs Bowl

Brampton Heath’s Andy Sewell used all his experience over the closing stretch at Collingtree Park to win the Higgs Bowl.

The four-handicapper birdied the 13th and 14th holes and then parred the last four holes to grab the honours by two strokes from four players.

Former county champion Mark Davis, who carded the best gross score, finished second on countback from Wellingborough club-mates Carl Martin and James Willmott and home club member Steve Cole.


Ian Barden, Ray Neal, Brian Gent and David Dare were the team to beat in the club’s Charity Day as they compiled a winning score of 95 points.

The quartet of George Hiams, Peter Dunn, Greg Barker and Brian Newey (94) took second by two from Frank Bustin, Nigel Harris, Carl Williams and David Page.

On a day when £3300 was raised for Parkinson’s UK, the ladies prize went to Margaret Worthington, Carol Osborne, Pat Dare and Chris Beeby (87) as they finish six clear of the chasing pack.

Northants County

Tony Lord collected another major honour as he won the Spring Vase by one stroke from Harry Larkins after posting a 36-hole gross score of 153. Matthew Myers was third on 155.

Larkins also had to be content with the runners-up prize in the net category as Paul Stones (net 148) picked up the Wallis Cup by two shots. Chris Winters (151) finished third.

Brampton Heath

Alec Francis found his consistency during the May Medal as the two-handicapper took the honours by two strokes with a net 69.

After starting with three birdies and three bogeys in his opening half a dozen holes, Francis carded 11 pars and one birdie over the remaining holes to finish clear of Roy Welsh.

Brendan Kelly, Keith Thompson and Dean Montgomery were a further shot off the pace.

Overstone Park

Richard Hanna was in great touch on the par three holes in the Seniors April Medal as he carded three pars and a bogey on the four short holes in a winning score of net 71.

A couple of strokes back in second place was Russell Moore, with Dave Bright, Gary Wild and Brian Billingham (all net 75) battling it out for the minor prizes in the Order of Merit event.

Cold Ashby

Stephen Bates won the Seniors April Medal as an excellent round of net 66 earned the 11-handicapper a three stroke victory from Ray Briggs.


Gary Birch compiled the best score of 39 points in the April Stableford as he won the second division by four from Steve Thompson and Paul White.

John Singleton (37) clinched the top section on countback from Joshua Morris, while Stephen Hatfield (37) led the way in the high-handicap category.


Roo Smith and Iain Tait had few problems qualifying for the fourth round of the Daily Mail Foursomes as they defeated a pair from Kettering by the scoreline 7&5.


Four gross pars in the last five holes helped Simon Miller beat Andrew Garner on countback to lift the Bill Hamilton Trophy with 39 points.

Countback was also needed in the other two divisions as Jeff Parsons (38) beat Craig Carrington in the second section, while Paul Booth edged out Roger Martin and Paul Rappo (37) in the top category.


Mike Wood needed countback to edge out Dougie Campbell in the Jim Faulkner Trophy after both players finished one clear of Matt Bishop with 37 points.


Carl Jonas lifted the St. Andrews Cup as his tally of 38 points was one more than Ryan Keeber, Dan Blackmore and Chris Caswell.


Stephen Clark and Craig McAuley collected the Past Captains Trophy after the pair carded 47 points to finish one clear of Alan Picketts and Brian Seal.

Malcolm Brown’s net 72 was the best score in the April Medal by four from Nigel Hunter.

Hellidon Lakes

Ted Craig parred half the holes, and carded a birdie on the ninth, in the Captains Drive-In Competition as he shot the leading total of 41 points.

Clive Jennings (39) clinched the top section by one from Paul Craig, while Alan Grant was the best high-handicapper with 36.

Cherwell Edge

David Walkden found his form from the sixth hole onwards in the April Sunday Stableford as he shot the leading mark of 40 points.

Steve Arnold (38) was runner-up.


Ten gross pars were on the scorecard of Andy Morgan in the Winter Bash as he fired an impressive tally of 45 points.

Stuart Bates carded 40 points, followed by Chris Franklin and Anthony Marriott (both 38).