Cobblers star Holmes nominated for league two player of the year award

Cobblers attacker Ricky Holmes has been nominated for the 2016 Sky Bet League Two Player of the Year award.

Tuesday, 12th April 2016, 1:59 pm

Holmes is up against Bristol Rovers striker Matty Taylor and Oxford United midfielder Kemar Roofe for the award, the winner of which will be announced at the Football League Awards in Manchester on Sunday.

Winger Holmes didn’t properly begin his season until December after suffering a back problem after three of substitute appearances in August, but since returning to the action he has been outstanding.

In all, Holmes has scored 10 goals for the Cobblers, several of them absolute crackers, and he has been one of the star men in Town’s march to promotion to league one.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Matty Taylor

Holmes was named the Sky Bet League Two player of the month for February.

Taylor, who scored the first for Rovers in their 2-2 draw at Sixfields on Saturday, has hit the back of the net an impressive 26 times overall to spearhead his side’s own promotion push, while Roofe, a former Cobblers loan player, has scored an eye-catching 23 times.

The Sky Bet Player of the Year awards have been voted for by managers of the clubs in each division.

Each league two manager was asked to list their top five players from this season in order, with the votes added up and the overall top three forming the shortlist.

Kemar Roofe

Previous winners include of the award include Danny Mayor (2015), Matt Ritchie (2012), Craig Dawson (2010), Grant Holt (2009) and Keith Andrews (2008).

The Football League Awards celebrates on and off pitch excellence across The League’s 72 clubs, rewarding players, clubs and fans.

Chief Executive of The Football League, Shaun Harvey, said: “It has been another fantastic season in Sky Bet League Two and the three players on the shortlist have been pivotal figures in their respective club’s push for promotion.

“We wish all three players the very best of luck and look forward to announcing the winner on Sunday.”

Matty Taylor

Other categories include the Young Player of the Year Award, the Johnstone’s Paint Community Club of the Year, Capital One Supporter of the Year, the Mitre Goal of the Year and the Sir Tom Finney Award.

For the first time this year the Awards will also recognise the best 11 players and manager from across the 72 clubs, with the ‘Football Manager Team of the Season’ to be announced on the night.

Live updates as the winners are announced will be provided via The Football League’s Twitter page, @football_league, on Sunday evening, with the Awards ceremony also broadcast live on The Football League’s YouTube channel from 8:45pm.

To find out more about The Football League Awards, and for a full list of award categories, visit or search #FLAwards.

Kemar Roofe

Previous League Two Player of the Year winners are:

2015: Danny Mayor (Bury)

2014: Gary Roberts (Chesterfield)

2013: Tom Pope (Port Vale)

2012: Matt Ritchie (Swindon Town)

2011: Ryan Lowe (Bury)

2010: Craig Dawson (Rochdale)

2009: Grant Holt (Shrewsbury Town)

2008: Keith Andrews (Milton Keynes Dons)

2007: Izale McLeod (Milton Keynes Dons)

2006: Karl Hawley (Carlisle United)