Cobblers face trip to Whitehawk or Stourbridge in FA Cup

The Cobblers will travel to non-League opposition in the second round of the FA Cup.

Monday, 7th November 2016, 7:44 pm
Updated Wednesday, 16th November 2016, 3:58 pm

Rob Page’s men, who were 6-0 winners over Ryman League outfit Harrow Borough in Saturday’s first round, will face either Whitehawk or Stourbridge on the first weekend of December.

The two sides drew 1-1 in their original tie last weekend, although there was controversy as home side Whitehawk thought they had scored a last-gasp winner, only for the goal to chalked off as the referee had blown the full-time whistle before the ball crossed the line.

Whitehawk, who are managed by former Cobblers midfielder and assistant manager Richard Hill, play in the Vanarama National League South, while Stourbridge play in the Evo-Stik North Premier Division.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Whitehawk are based in Brighton, and are sitting just below mid-table.

Stourbridge play in the same division as Corby Town, and are managed by former Shrewsbury Town, Aberdeen, Stoke City, West Brom and Peterborough United player Gary Hackett.

Brackley Town meanwhile will face a trip to Sky Bet League Two side Blackpool, providing they can get past league one strugglers Gillingham in their first round replay next week.

The draw was made live on BBC2, by former Liverpool defender Jim Beglin and former Everton striker Graeme Sharp.

FA Cup second round draw

Ties to be played between Friday 2 December- Monday 5 December

Westfields or Curzon Ashton v Bury or AFC Wimbledon

Chesterfield v Wycombe Wanderers

Millwall v Braintree Town

Macclesfield Town v Oxford United

Bolton Wanderers v Sheffield United

Blackpool v Gillingham or Brackley Town

Whitehawk or Stourbridge v Northampton Town

Boreham Wood or Notts County v Peterborough United

Cambridge United or Dover Athletic v Coventry City v Morecambe

Port Vale v Hartlepool United

Bristol Rovers or Crawley Town v Taunton or Barrow

Woking v Accrington Stanley

Lincoln City v Oldham Athletic

Luton Town v Yeovil Town or Solihull Moors

Sutton United v Cheltenham Town or Crewe

Eastleigh or Swindon v Halifax or Dagenham and Redbridge

Shrewsbury Town v Southport or Fleetwood Town

Charlton Athletic v MK Dons

Plymouth Argyle v Alfreton or Newport County

Carlisle United v Maidstone United or Rochdale