Northampton’s Walker is the national bowls champion

NATIONAL CHAMPION - Northampton's Jamie Walker
NATIONAL CHAMPION - Northampton's Jamie Walker

Northampton bowler Jamie Walker is celebrating after becoming the national singles champion.

Walker, who bowls for the West End club in town, won the Champion of Champions event at the National Bowls Championships which were held at Victoria Park in Royal Leamington Spa.

Walker beat reigning champion Matthew Marchant of Hampshire 21-9 in the final.

Earlier, Walker had beaten England international Steve Mitchinson of Essex 21-12 in the last 16, and then Andrew Kirtland of Durham 21-17 in the quarter-final.

In the semi-final, after a terrific match of 26 ends of top-class bowls, Walker beat Perry Martin, a fellow England international, of Kent 21-19.

Walker’s triumph makes up for the disappointment of him losing at the last 16 stage in the Under-25 competition (see below).

Walker U-25 title bid ended by Barker

Jamie Walker was beaten at the last 16 stage of the Men’s Junior Singles (Under-25) at the National Bowls Championships at Leamington.

The Northants champion and West End BC member saw off the 2014 champions Martin Puckett from Weymouth in his first round match, edging a tight clash 21-20.

In the second round, Walker beat Adam Clark of Southampton Sports Centre BC 21-11, the Northampton bowler controlling the match throughout. That saw him take on Barker from St Neots in the third round, and he went down 21-18, with Barker going on to take the title the following afternoon.

David Walker, also of West End, was also in the compeitition, but lost his first round match to Cornwall’s Fred Williams 21-18.

Elsewhere, It was a short-lived Nationals tournament for Kingsthorpe BC’s Yvonne McKee and Brenda Bishop as they lost in the first round of the women’s pairs.

The Northampton duo were well beaten, 25-12, by Julie Leake and Penny Cresswell from Poole Park in Dorset.

It was a similar story for the West End BC team of Roger Summers, Ian Stewart, David Walker and Iain Walker in the men’s fours championship.

They lost their opening round matche 19-5 to Keith Holloway, Jamie Wilkinson, George Schwab and Mark Sykes from Banbury Borough BC.

County team for Leicestershire date

THE following playeers have been selected to represent Jackson Grundy sponsored Bowls Northamptonshire Women’s Section in a Middle England League match against Leicestershire on August 26 at Soar Valley BC in Rothley (start 1.30pm).

Travel is by coach, picking up at Northampton Billing Road at 11am and Kettering Leisure Centre at 11.30 am.


Rink 1: Alison Dring, Swanspool/Pam Sallaway, Rushden Town/Yvonne McKee, Kingsthorpe/Brenda Bishop, Kingsthorpe

Rink 2: Trish Basford, Geddington & Newton/Pat Mattinson, Thrapston/Val Betts, Higham Ferrers Town/ Barbara Haseldine, Finedon Town

Rink 3: Abby Woodward, Desborough Town/Pat Starsmore, Kettering Lodge/Audrey Height, Kettering Lodge/Jeannie Flippance, Desborough Town

Rink 4: Velda Cooper, Irchester/Brenice Willmott, Irchester/Jill Welch, Heyford/Hilary Sharpe, Kingsthorpe

Rink 5: Maggie Edwards, Kingsthorpe/Sandra Mawson, Northampton Whyte Melville/Margaret McGillivray, Desborough Town/Sharon Tansley, Kingsthorpe

Rink 6: Pat Bodily, Northampton Whyte Melville/Heather Lack, Burton Latimer Town/Eleanor Winters, Corby Forest/Joyce Porter, Abbey Park

Travelling Reserves: Nancy Tebbutt, Thrapston/Rhona Holland, Heyford/Joyce George, Wellingborough

Non-travelling Reserve: Linda Warren, Abbey Park