BOWLS: Northants cruise to win over Bedfordshire

England team manager Andy Thomson with skipper Jamie Walkerand Connor Cinato with the Joyce Trimble Trophy after their win in the British Isles Under 25 International Series
England team manager Andy Thomson with skipper Jamie Walkerand Connor Cinato with the Joyce Trimble Trophy after their win in the British Isles Under 25 International Series

Northants Men were 132-114 winners over Bedfordshire in their latest Midland Counties match.

The clash was played at Desborough IBC and the County won four rinks and lost two.

The highest winning rink for the County was the one skipped by Darren Childs, which posted a 17 shots victory.

Overall it was a match in which the County started the better and after five ends of play they had a 13 shots lead at 39-26, with just two losing rinks, and another five ends later the advantage had grown to 74-51.

Bedfordshire fought back though and after 18 ends they had reduced the deficit to 12 shots, but the County kept their cool and the advantage was restored to a healthy 18 shots.

Rink scores, Bedfordshire skips only, as follows:

Rink 1: Jim Diver, Pete Mellor, Richard Mann & John Haines 22 – Andrew Manning 11

Rink 2: Richard Harding, Kyle Buckley, Jack Tobin & Malc Mattinson 25 – Danny Brooks 20

Rink 3: Matt Pownall, Callum Height, Paul Broderick & Darren Childs 33 – Mike Bertrand 16

Rink 4: Dave Love, Ian Roy, Walt Winsor & Mick Cooper 19 – Jim Allen 17

Rink 5: Mick Spear, Tony Dicks, Mick Worthington & Vernon Gearey 17 – Graham White 28

Rink 6: Will Clelland, Mick Richardson, Norman Gibb & Tony Weston 16 – Chris Beard 22

Walker and Cinato are England winners

KINGSTHORPE pair Jamie Walker and Connor Cinato were part of the England team that won the Under-25 Men’s British Isles International Series at Newport in Wales last weekend.

Walker captained the team, who first faced Ireland on Saturday morning and won easily 92-66 shots with three winning rinks and one losing. Walker’s rink won 28-14 and Cinato’s rink won 31-9.

Second up was Wales and once again England enjoyed a comfortable win, this time by 96-58 shots.

Again there were three winning rinks and one losing, with Walker’s rink winning 29-12 and Cinato’s rink losing 22-12.

The final match on Sunday morning saw England play Scotland, and although it was a lot closer, Walker’s team edged it 76-72 to make it three wins out of three and claim the championship and the Joyce Trimble Trophy.

There were again three winning rinks for England, with Walker’s winning 21-18 and Cinato’s losing 24-12.

Northants suffer friendly defeat

NORTHANTS Men travelled to Tamworth to play Warwickshire in a friendly, and were beaten 118-105.

In a tight match, the County actually lost five rinks, but by only a combined total of 14 shots, while their one winning rink, skipped by Michael Moulton, won by just one shot.

Rink scores, Warwickshire skips only, as follows:

Rink 1: Bob Sullivan, Kip Frankson, Andy Hogg & Bernard Spreadbury 15 – Paul Jones 20

Rink 2: Rick Hayes, Don Scott, Bob Tingle & Richard Somerton 15 – Brian Mace-Humphries 16

Rink 3: Roger Miller, Rob Duff, Geoff Hunt & George Warren 19 – Aubrey Brockhouse 20

Rink 4: Brian Hunt, Richard Upton, Alan Watts & Brian Jones 19 – Alan Barker 24

Rink 5: Colin Barnes, Tony Warren, Tim Robinson & Michael Moulton 18 – Alan Palmer 17

Rink 6: Stuart Lowe, Terry Fuller, Brian Diver & Norman Gibb 19 – John Prichard 21

County men name team for Herts clash

THE following players have been selected to represent Northants IBA in a friendly against Hertfordshire on March 1 at Kingsthorpe BC (2pm).

Rink 1: Roger Miller, Desborough IBC/Eddie Chapman, Wellingborough BC/Geoff Hunt, Wellingborough IBC/Terry James, Rushden Town BC

Rink 2: Will Clelland, Desborough IBC/Alan Watts, Daventry IBC/Tony Warren, Northampton & District IBA/Tony Weston, Northampton & District IBA

Rink 3: Keith Howlett, Desborough IBC/Jim Brumwell, Kingsthorpe BC/Dave Williamson, Kingsthorpe BC/George Warren, Desborough IBC

Rink 4: Peter Kitchener, Rushden Town BC/Bob Tingle, Desborough IBC/Geoff Harris, Rushden Town BC/Norman Gibb, Desborough IBC

Rink 5: Trevor Tilley, Wellingborough BC/Bob Sullivan, Desborough IBC/John Streather, Rushden Town BC/Richard Somerton, Brackley & District BC

Rink 6: Colin Barnes, Northampton & District IBA/Don Scott, Brackley & District BC/Brian Diver, Desborough IBC/Pete Mellor, Desborough IBC

Reserves: Ken Lovejoy, Rushden Town BC/Peter Gilkes, Northampton & District IBA/Robin Frost, Northampton & District IBA/Chris Hawkins, Desborough IBC/Dave Garland, Kingsthorpe BC

Daventry edge out Northants Ladies

NORTHANTS Ladies travelled to Daventry IBC to take on their hosts in a friendly, and it was Daventry who triumphed by just two shots.

The rink wins were shared, with the highest scoring for the County being the rink skipped by Wilma Walker which recorded a 20 shots win, and that for Daventry being the rink skipped by Vicki Rushall that posted a 12 shots win.

Rink scores, County names first, as follows:

Rink 1: Dorothy Diver, Lorna Hart, Elaine Munton & Joan Bryan 13 – Sue Yates, Jeanette Taylor, Helen Humphris & Judy Hicks 11

Rink 2: Sheila Rigby, Elsie Hatton, Denise Carlin & Heather Lack 13 – Margaret Daynes, Donna Hooper, Lorraine Streeter & Vicki Rushall 25

Rink 3: Marlene Armitage, Susan Lomas, Pat Bodily & Joyce Porter 9 – Sylvia Hatfield, Irene Oxby, Rhona Holland & Brenda Bishop 20

Rink 4: Sian Hughes-Jones, Heather Green, Pam Page & Linda Warren 11 – Kim Russell, Carol Taylor, Julie Spreadbury & Joan Watts 16

Rink 5: Wen Hill, Val Scott, Dawn Owen & Eleanor Winters 17 – Annie Scrimshaw, Valerie Hopson, Jo Read-Jones & Pat Symonds 13

Rink 6: Lynn Upton, Marion Mackie, Pat Starsmore & Wilma Walker 29 – Hazel Wallage, Sally Hayes, Sylvia Fuller & Shirley Shucksmith 9

Kingsthorpe pair one win from nationals

LATEST national competition results.

Ladies Over-60s Pairs Zone Final: Celia Morris & Di Brumwell, Kingsthorpe BC beat Joan Parfitt & partner, Welford-on-Avon IBC 19-10 - This win puts the Kingsthorpe pair into the Area 6 Final against Pamela Harris of Malvern Hills IBC and means they are one match away from appearing at the National Finals at Nottingham in April.

Ladies Yetton Plate (four-rink inter club competition for first round losers in the Yetton Trophy) - National semi-final: Northampton & District IBA beat East Dorset IBC, Christchurch, Dorset 70 – 62.

What a terrific performance – particularly on the rink skipped by Janet Swift, this being the only winning rink for Northampton, for they won by a spectacularly high 27 shots.

Rink scores, East Dorset skips only, as follows:

Rink 1: Margaret Newport, Shannon Swift, Linda Warren & Janet Swift 32 – V Farrant 5

Rink 2: Jackie Dale, Dawn Bradshaw, Louise Haladij & Sue Lane 12 – J Emerson 15

Rink 3: Billie Swift, Janet Denton, Lisbeth Milburn & Joyce Porter 9 – Joy Tappin 24

Rink 4: Jackie Smith, Chloe Weston, Elaine Cox & Heather Newton 17 – Kay Richardson 18

This puts Northampton & District Ladies into the national final to be played at Nottingham IBC on Sunday, April 9.

Men;s Pairs Area 6 Zone 1 Final: Andrew Manton & Neil McKee, Kingsthorpe BC, beat Andy Smith & partner, Avon Valley IBC, Warwickshire 20-17

Area 14 Zone 2 Final: Ron Morland & Alan Dunkley,Brackley & District BC lost to Neil Smith & partner, Westlecot IBC, Wiltshire 16-17.

Men’s Triples: Alan Dunkley, Ron Morland & Sam Wright, Brackley & District BC lost to Ian Jefferies’s triple, Westlecot IBC, Wiltshire 15-11