Bland and Oram bow out in second round of National Championships

Chris Bland and Marilyn Oram receive their championship badges from the EIBA President Bernard Millard
Chris Bland and Marilyn Oram receive their championship badges from the EIBA President Bernard Millard

Northampton’s Marilyn Oram and Chris Bland played some superb bowls in the mixed pairs event of the National Championships at Northampton & District IBC.

Oram and Bland beat Ann Lennie and Martin Cooper (West Denton IBC) 23-18 in the first round on Tuesday morning. In the second round they narrowly lost to Ros Constant and Chris Keating of City & County of Bristol IBC 16-18 in another close match in which all players were on top of their game. 
Northants bowls press officer John Church said: “They certainly did themselves and club proud by the performances.”

Walker plays starring role for England

Jamie Walker was the man of the series as England claimed the British Isles Indoor Bowls Council Junior International Series in Newport.

The Wellingborough IBC man skipped a rink that won all three of their matches against Ireland, Scotland and Wales respectively.

First up for Walker, whose rink included three new internationals in Adam Liddell (York & District IBC) at lead; Matt Whyers (Spalding IBC) at No. 2 and Daniel Morris (Wey Valley IBC, Guildford) at No. 3 was Ireland.

This game went England’s way with a huge 52-shot win and victory on all four rinks.

Walker’s rink had an excellent win of 24-13 shots in the 107-55 success.

Second up was Scotland, who always provide a tough encounter, but England once again came out on top by 20 shots, very much thanks to the excellent win by 13 shots of Walker’s rink, which was the highest of the three winning rinks.

The third and final match was against Wales and England won by just one shot. England had three winning rinks, including the hat-trick of wins for Walker’s rink, but the losing rink did so by 16 shots, hence the tight finish.

As a result of his three wins out of three, not only did England win the series, but Walker took the individual prize.

Whilst the men were contesting their series in Wales, the England junior team was contesting the women’s Junior Series at Bromsgrove IBC, and one of the County stars, Rebecca Wigfield (Desborough IBC) was in attendance as a travelling reserve.

England beat Wales by 41 shots in their first game before Wigfield was informed that she would be playing against Scotland in the second match.

After five ends, the score was 17-18 to Scotland, and at 10 ends England fell slightly further behind at 40-42. By 15 ends, England had edged in front by a single shot at shot 57-56.

With Annalisa Bellamy’s rink having completed their 18 ends and losing by nine shots, the remaining three rinks went into their last end with England two shots behind.

Wigfield’s rink finished first of the three, winning 19-17, and in picking up a two the scores were level overall.

Lorraine Kuhler’s rink then picked up a single shot for England to nose in front.

Amy Stanton, for England, held three shots with Scotland having one bowl left and they had no other choice but to try to kill the end as they needed to pick up at least two shots.

Fortunately for England, she missed and England won the game by four shots, which also meant they clinched the series.

Improved Northants are beaten again

NORTHANTS IBA’s men made the journey to Guildford to play Surrey County IBA at Wey Valley IBC.

And although losing the match by 23 shots overall, it was a better performance than the last visit there when all rinks lost.

This time the County had two winning rinks, and as a result the points awarded, in this Surrey Cup inter county competition, were four to the County and 18 to Surrey. The final score was Surrey 140 Northamptonshire 117.

Rink scores (Surrey skips only). Rink one: Keith Howlett/Mike McKeown/Bob Sullivan/John Haines 20 T Hill 22. Rink two: Paul Cooke/Don Scott/Brian Diver/Brian Jones 23 B Martin 17.

Rink three: Roger Miller/Will Clelland/John Clarke/Norman Gibb 15 H Craig 29. Rink four: Jim Diver/Brian Langton/Tony Warren/Terry James 22 A Lewis 17. Rink five: Stuart Lowe/Trevor Tilley/Brian Sherwood/Tony Weston 15 G Taylor 21. Rink six: Roger Summers/Tom Kavanagh/Mick Weatherill/Richard Somerton 22 M Laybelt 34.

Northants VPs edged out by Rushden Town

Members of the Northamptonshire Vice Presidents Bowling Association visited the chairman’s club, Rushden Town IBC.

The final score was VPs 106 Rushden Town IBC 113.

Rink scores (Rushden skips only). Rink one: Len Marshall/Peter Byworth/Ray Pollitt/Colin Incles 18 Brian Langton 21. Rink two: Graham Cashmore/Philip Miller/Ken Legan/Bob Tingle 18 Hubert Dickens 22. Rink three: Ollie Pearson/Brian Bailey/William Keeney/Roy Cave 16 Roy Bigg 16. Rink four: John Churchman/Clyde Hulbert/Dick Howell/Dave Williamson 19 Richard Bryan 12. Rink five: Tom Black/Gordon Morris/Les Johnson/Alex McKim 14 John StJohn 25. Rink six: Albert Julyan/Charles Longstaff/Mike McKeown/Keith Forbes 21 David Jones 17.

Cattell beats Knox to win senior final

A terrific day of junior bowling took place at the English Bowls Youth Development Scheme (EBYDS) School of Excellence for the county.

Organised by Northamptonshire Bowls Youth Development Scheme (NBYDS) the event was under the leadership of co-ordinators Linda and Tony Warren.

The event is the pre-requisite to proceeding to the regional and national Schools of Excellence and the participants are classified into two age groups, with the junior group being for those under 15 years and the senior group aged between 15 and 18 years.

Results - Junior Group: Maisie Lee (Northampton & District IBC) 77, Adam Pitfield (Rushden Town IBC) 70, Megan Rolfe (Kingsthorpe IBC) 61, Conor Bryan (Northampton & District IBC) 61. Senior Group: Connor Cinato (Desborough IBC) 95, Matt Cattell (Rushden Town IBC) 78, Alice Moore (Northampton & District IBC) 77, Cameron Knox, Desborough IBC 73. Junior semi-finals: Adam Pitfield beat Megan Rolfe, Conor Bryan beat Maisie Lee. Final: Pitfield beat Bryan. Senior semi-finals: Cameron Knox beat Connor Cinato, Matt Cattell beat Alice Moore. Final: Cattell beat Knox.