BOWLS: Walker gets England call for Scotland clash

Northampton bowler Jamie Walker has been chosen to play for England in their forthcoming Test match against Scotland on October 20 and 21.

Friday, 14th October 2016, 11:16 am
Updated Tuesday, 25th October 2016, 6:31 pm
Jamie Walker

Walker, who bowls for Kingsthorpe’s indoor section, is in the six-man team for the Test which is being staged at New Earswick IBC in York.

England team: Nick Brett (Huntingdon), Jamie Chestney (Exonia), Mark Dawes (Blackpool Newton Hall),

Mervyn King (Gallow), Robert Paxton (Taunton Deane), Jamie Walker (Kingsthorpe BC - Indoor Section).

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

TheScotland team will include both Paul Foster MBE and Alex Marshall MBE, plus well known players Stewart Anderson, Darren Burnett, Ronnie Duncan and Colin Walker.

The format of The Co-op Funeralcare Test matches will be sets play with two triples and three pairs matches on the first day, followed by six singles matches on the second day.

One point will be awarded to the winner of each match and the team with the most points will be the winners.

There will be live televised coverage of the match from 10am-5.30pm on both days on ITV4.

VPs suffer big loss in Kingsthorpe friendly

NORTHANTS Vice-Presidents took on Kingsthorpe BC in a friendly, and were thumped 142-83.

The VPs lost on five rinks and drew on the other, with the drawing rink skipped by Dave Williamson.

Details as follows, Kingsthorpe skips names only:

Rink 1: Maurice Tyler, Bryan Audis, Ted Guiver & Dave Thurlow 13 – Bob Care 20

Rink 2: Brian Robbins, Vic Wallace, Peter Kitchener & Jack Brown 17 – Roger Caswell 21

Rink 3: Pete Woodhams, Peter Byworth, Will Keeney & Mick Weatherill 16 – Alan Spencer 18

Rink 4: Len Smith, Derek Essam, Liz Keeney & Colin Incles 11 – Peter Morris 36

Rink 5: Chris Gray, John Cooper, Len Marshall & Dave Williamson 18 – Don Crowson 18

Rink 6: Tom Black, Jim Walvin, Jeff Talbot & Barry Hogston 8 – Mick Sharpe 29

Ladies select squad for Desborough battle

THE following players have been selected to represent Northants Ladies in a friendly at Desborough IBC next Monday (Oct 17).

Rink 1: Lynn Upton, Brackley & District BC/Margaret Tyler, Wellingborough BC/Elaine Urquhart, Brackley & District BC/Audrey Height, Kettering Lodge BC

Rink 2: Celia Morris, Kingsthorpe BC/Sue Lomas, Desborough IBC/Linda Warren, Northampton & District IBC/Joyce Porter, Northampton & District IBC

Rink 3: Velda Cooper, Rushden Town BC/Elaine Munton, Kingsthorpe BC/Chris Cooper, Wellingborough BC/Brenda Bishop, Kingsthorpe BC

Rink 4: Marlene Armitage, Wellingborough BC/Valerie Blackwell, Rushden Town BC/Glenys Emery, Kingsthorpe BC/Pam Lewis, Rushden Town BC

Rink 5: Audrey Gardner, Daventry IBC/Sian Hugh-Jones, Kettering Lodge BC/Joan Bryan, Kettering Lodge BC/Barbara Haseldine, Rushden Town BC

Rink 6: Pat Starsmore, Kettering Lodge BC/Elsie Hatton, Brackley & District BC/Rhona Holland, Daventry IBC/Heather Lack, Kettering Lodge BC

Alan Hodgson

Alan Hodgson, 64 years, Kingsthorpe BC: Alan’s death was announced on October 7, 2016. He was a very active member both of the indoor and outdoor sections at Kingsthorpe BC, and he was a very sociable and friendly man, as I can vouch for having played against a rink he was a member of last indoor season. He was tall of stature, as befits the successful fast bowler he was for Northamptonshire County Cricket in the 1970s. Further information is not yet to hand, including his funeral arrangements, and these will be included in a later report (John Church)

Kingsthorpe get the better of Bromsgrove

KINGSTHORPE BC enjoyed a 73-65 win over Bromsgrove IBC in their Wessex League match.

Rink details, skips only, Kingsthorpe first:

At Kingsthorpe: Rink 1: Neil McKee 23 – L Lane 15

Rink 2: Jim McKee 21 – J Cracknell 14

At Bromsgrove: Rink 3: Mick Sharpe 13 - V Banks 14

Rink 4: Ben Sharpe 16 – R Mole 22