19 tries as Barbarians triumph in Mobbs match

The 82nd East Midlands Mobbs Memorial Match produced an astonishing 19 tries as the Barbarians beat Bedford Blues 76-45 at Goldington Road.

Bedford provided the opposition for the second time, having taken over the fixture from East Midlands last season, and were spirited, if outgunned, in an entertaining game that included hat-tricks for Barbarians debutants Ross Samson and David Jackson.

Nottingham wing Jackson, one of 14 newcomers in the Barbarians squad, marked his debut with stunning solo try which came from a scintillating burst down the left touchline.

The Barbarians were 43-12 clear at the break and the second half continued in much the same way.

The match was played in honour of Lt Col Edgar Mobbs, the former England, Northampton, East Midlands, Olney and Bedford Modern School wing, who was killed leading an assault on an enemy machine gun post at Passchendale in July 1915.

Bedford Blues: 15 Tom Foden (Anthony Fenner 62); 14 Mike Allen, 13 Will Lawson, 12 James Knight, 11 Duncan Taylor; 10 Nick Walshe (B Davies 51), 9 Will Chudley (Darryl Veenendaal 64); 1 Andy Brown (Sam Walsh 62), 2 Greg Sammons (C Locke 51), 3 James Graham, 4 Phil Hoy, 5 Scott Hobson (Adam Dempsey 56), 6 Dan Falvey (Jack Miccans 56), 7 Brett Daynes, 8 Rory McKay (captain).

Scorers: T: Knight 2, Veenendaal 2, Taylor, McKay, Allen C: Fenner 3, Walshe, Davies.

Barbarians: 15 Martyn Thomas (Newport Gwent Dragons); 14 Nick Royle (Fylde), 13 Andy Henderson (Glasgow Warriors and Scotland), 12 Jonny Kennedy (Sale Sharks), 11 David Jackson (Nottingham); 10 Rory Clegg (Newcastle Falcons), 9 Ross Sampson (Tynedale); 1 Darren Jacques (Redruth), 2 Joe Duffey (Nottingham), 3 Stuart Turner (Sale Sharks and England), 4 Richie Gray (Glasgow Warriors), 5 Iain Fullarton (London Scottish and Scotland), 6 Craig Hammond (Nottingham), 7 Luke Sherriff (Nottingham), 8 Henno Venter (Coventry).

Replacements: Hal Lacombe (Worcester Warriors and Wales) for Kennedy 40, James Shanahan (Cambridge) for Henderson 62, Darren Wilson (Preston Grasshoppers) for Samson 56, Laurence Ovens (Bath) for Jacques 51, Dan Rosen (Oxford University) for Duffey 56, Henry Head (Richmond) for Fullarton 51, John Dalziel (Melrose) for Venter 57.

Scorers: T: Samson 3, Jackson 3, Royle 2, Sherriff, Henderson, Fullarton, Thomas C: Clegg 8

Referee: Mr David Rose (Birmingham)