Public urged to vote for Northampton General Hospital staff who deserve an award

Porter Phil Briggs is an example of a former award winner
Porter Phil Briggs is an example of a former award winner

Nominations are being invited to help choose the winners at the Northampton General Hospital awards.

Members of the public can vote in any of the nine categories in the NGH Best Possible Care Awards.

The awards recognise individuals or teams that make a real difference, go the extra mile to improve patients’ experience or contribute to improvements in the care and safety of patients.

Chief executive Dr Sonia Swart said: “In the midst of all the discussion around pressures on NHS services, our Best Possible Care Awards are an opportunity to take stock of and celebrate the competence and commitment, the professionalism and pride, the exuberance and enthusiasm that I see every day in every ward and every department.

“Our vision is to provide the best possible care for all our patients, and that is why we have called them the NGH Best Possible Care Awards.

“If you or a friend or family member has been treated extraordinarily well by our staff and you would like to nominate them, we would love to hear from you.

“The awards also give us the chance to celebrate the work that goes on behind the scenes, the services and people that the public doesn’t usually see but are crucial to our ability to provide safe care. That’s why the awards include categories for our non-clinical teams as well.”

There nine award categories for individuals and teams, staff and volunteers:

Clinical team award

Non-clinical team award

Volunteer of the year award (team or individual

Chief executive’s innovation in practice award (individual)

Unsung hero (clinical)

Unsung hero (non-clinical)

Patient safety award (individual or team)

Patient experience award (individual or team

Outstanding contribution award (individual

Shortlisted nominees will be invited to the Best Possible Care Awards Ceremony in September when the winner and highly commended nomination in each category will be announced and awards presented.

Nominations, which can be made via the NGH website, close at midnight on June 17.