Northamptonshire football volunteer honours given out

Northamptonshire FA logo
Northamptonshire FA logo

Grassroots footballing heroes in Northamptonshire have been presented with awards by the county’s Football Association.

The FA Community Awards are in their fifth year and acknowledge those who go the extra mile to enhance grassroots football.

The Northamptonshire awards were announced last week and the winners will receive their accolades at forthcoming events.

The winners were: Community Club of the Year – Glinton and Northborough; Development Club of the Year – Middleton Cheney; Charter Standard Club of the Year – Deanshanger Colts; Charter Standard League of the Year – Peterborough Junior Alliance league; Young Volunteer of the Year – Cameron Marshall; Volunteers of the Year – Ian Gidley, Paul Lane and Alan Simms (Crick Athletic FC); Welfare Officer of the Year – Dawn Mains (Welland Valley FC); Referee of the Year – Steve Biggs and Outstanding Contribution Award – Russell Lewis (Northampton Town Football in the Community).

A national event takes place later this year prior to next season’s FA Community Shield fixture.

Ian Tinto, Head of Football Development at Northamptonshire FA, said: “The Northamptonshire FA is exceptionally proud of the volunteer workforce that makes football happen in our county and it’s great to have an opportunity to recognise just a few of them and the excellent work that they do.

“This year we have had our biggest ever response – a reflection of not only the excellent grassroots work that goes on, but also the number of volunteers who work tirelessly week in, week out.

“Without them, affiliated football simply wouldn’t happen. To be nominated for one of these awards is a great honour, and this year’s nominees provided a great challenge for the panel that has had to pick out a single winner in each category.”

For more information about the awards, visit