Northampton young scientists get close up to Sir Francis Crick Memorial Prizes

editorial image

A quartet of students from a Northampton school have been awarded prizes to honour the memory of the town’s most prestigious scienctist.

Awarded in the name of the Nobel Prize winning co-discoverer of the DNA molecule The Sir Francis Crick Memorial Prize has been given to four students from Thomas Becket School.

The Northamptonshire Natural History Society initiated the annual young person’s award for scientific interest in microscopy, honouring the memory of the Nobel laureate.

Year 7 students Ryan Jones, Kessiwah Salipu, Jamie Stones, and Weronika Arnista entered the society’s competition each winning a certificate and a microscope.

The society, founded in 1876, has a long association with the Cricks.