New Northampton Borough Council cabinet line-up will see Councillor Mike Hallam take up deputy leader role

Councillor Mike Hallam has become deputy leader of Northampton Borough Council in the new cabinet line-up revealed today.
Councillor Mike Hallam has become deputy leader of Northampton Borough Council in the new cabinet line-up revealed today.

The leader of Northampton Borough Council has unveiled her new cabinet in a move which has seen a portfolio for ‘community safety’ created.

Councillor Mary Markham (Con, Park) has revealed the six councillors responsible for overseeing particular areas of the council’s work this morning.

Among the changes, Councillor Mike Hallam (Con, Parklands) will move from his role as cabinet member for environment to deputy leader of the authority and cabinet member for finance.

His former position, overseeing licensing issues and environmental services, will be filled by Councillor Alan Bottwood (Con, Upton) in an effective straight swap for the authority.

The shake-up has also seen a new cabinet post created for ‘community safety’.

It was an area of governance previously covered by former leader David Mackintosh, but will now be the responsibility of Councillor Anna King, who will work with Northamptonshire Police and other partners working to ‘create safer neighbourhoods’.

Councillor Markham said: “I am honoured to lead this experienced cabinet as we continue with our programme of measures that will improve Northampton and help create a vibrant, prosperous and welcoming town with a secure future.

“We will work hard to ensure that we make the most of opportunities for more regeneration, to celebrate our great heritage and to continue to enhance Northampton’s reputation as a place to live, to visit and do business.

“We have set ourselves a challenging agenda but over the past four years we have delivered a tremendous amount of change for the town and we are all looking forward to achieving even more in the next four.”

The Cabinet line-up will be:

Councillor Mike Hallam - Deputy Leader and Cabinet Member Finance, which includes responsibility for information technology and for facilities as well as the Revenues and Benefits service

Councillor Tim Hadland – Cabinet Member for Regeneration & Enterprise, which includes Planning. He will have responsibility for major regeneration projects, for economic partnerships and the Business Improvement Districts, for town centre management and operations and heritage

Councillor Brandon Eldred – Cabinet Member for Community Engagement. He will also oversee neighbourhood working, events and culture and sports and leisure, as well as having responsibility for equality issues

Councillor Stephen Hibbert – Cabinet Member for Housing, which includes homelessness, private sector landlords, HMOs and strategic housing issues and supporting the work of Northampton Partnership Homes

Councillor Alan Bottwood – Cabinet Member for Environment which includes licensing issues and carbon management as well as environmental services and environmental health

Councillor Anna King – Cabinet Member for Community Safety, who will lead on working with Northamptonshire Police and other partners working to create safer neighbourhoods and to ensure Northampton is a welcoming town.