Help put Cosworth Engineering stalwarts into Motor Sport Hall of Fame

Two legends of Cosworth Engineering in Northampton have been nominated for this year's Motor Sport Hall of Fame.

Wednesday, 22nd March 2017, 11:33 am
Updated Friday, 24th March 2017, 10:49 am
A Cosworth engine

Mike Costin and Keith Duckworth are contenders in the F1.

Both played key roles in making Cosworth a major name in motor sport. To vote, visit

The voting deadline for this year’s Motor Sport Hall of Fame closes in April and it is all down to a public vote.

Sign up to our daily newsletter

The i newsletter cut through the noise

Since it was formed in 1958 by Costin and Duckworth, Cosworth has become the most successful independent engine manufacturer in history as well as one of the market leaders in performance electronics, with a string of driver and manufacturer titles to its credit in a wide range of formulae with impressive performances in Formula 1, IndyCar, Champ Car, WRC, sports cars and MotoGP.

In 1966 Duckworth signed a contract with Ford to develop a new three-litre Formula 1 engine – and the legendary DFV was born. It got its first taste of victory in 1967, when Jim Clark won the Dutch Grand Prix. The DFV, in subsequent development guises, went on to dominate the sport for 15 years and clinched 155 GP wins during that time. 2017 marks the 50th anniversary of their famous DFV engine being introduced.

A host of famous names benefited from Costin and Duckworth's approach in Formula 1. Jochen Rindt, Jackie Stewart, Emerson Fittipaldi, Mario Andretti and James Hunt all took championships using Cosworth engines during the 1970s. This period of sustained dominance in Formula 1 played a key part in making Cosworth a major name in motor racing, so Mike Costin and Keith Duckworth are worthy contenders for the Motor Sport Hall of Fame.

The 12 nominees chosen for the Formula 1 category short list include revolutionary designers, precocious unfulfilled talents and multiple world champions. The other nominees are: former Ferrari mastermind Jean Todt, Paddy Lowe, renowned designer John Barnard, Nelson Piquet, Emerson Fittipaldi, Mika Häkkinen, Gilles Villeneuve, Ronnie Peterson, Nigel Mansell, Bernd Rosemeyer(representing the pre-war era of Grand Prix racing) and the late, great Chris Amon.

The Motor Sport Hall of Fame ceremony returns to the spectacular Royal Automobile Club at Woodcote Park on June 7. You can help decide who will join the 34 greats that have been inducted since 2010 – names such as Mario Andretti, Enzo Ferrari, John Surtees, Sir Stirling Moss and Michael Schumacher.

Not only can you vote for your favourites, you can be there on the night to rub shoulders with the great and the good of the motor racing world. The prestigious black-tie dinner will be hosted by Jennie Gow, and there will be demonstrations of numerous iconic cars and motorcycles on the Captain’s Drive. The day before the awards, on June 6, there will be an H&H Classics auction in partnership with the Motor Sport Hall of Fame.

Most fittingly the event charity partner is the Henry Surtees Foundation, set up by the late John Surtees CBE in memory of his son Henry who was killed in a freak accident at Brands Hatch. The event will also pay special tribute to John Surtees.

To cast your vote or to buy tickets, visit: