Get down to Sixfields in Northampton today for the Leon Barwell Foundation Trophy charity match

editorial image

Rugby World Cup winners, legends from Northampton Saints and Northampton Town, and stars of the cricket world will take to Sixfields today to compete in Leon Barwell Foundation Trophy.

Ex-Saints star Ben Cohen and former England teammates Jason Robinson and Mike Catt could not resist the urge to line up alongside a host of Northamptonshire sporting legends at Sixfields Stadium this Sunday.

The trio, who helped England lift the World Cup in October 2003, ex-Saints star Matt Dawson, who was also part of that historic victory.

Former Northampton Saints and British and Irish Lions head coach, Sir Ian McGeechan, will be manager of the Legends team, against the All Stars, led by ex-Cobblers boss, Ian Atkins.

Kick off is at 3pm today, Sunday, at Sixfields Stadium.

The aim is to raise thousands of pounds to give families battling cancer a chance to create new memories.

It is being organised by Paula Barwell and trustees of the Leon Barwell Foundation, launched last year in memory of Leon, who died of cancer aged 45, in June 2013.

The foundation now aims to fund short holidays and trips for families in Northamptonshire who are dealing with a similar situation.

A host of further icons have pledged their support to the charity game by signing up to Sunday’s event, including Tim Rodber, the former Saints captain who guided the club to their historic Heineken Cup triumph in 2000. and Franklin’s Gardens player-turned-physiotherapist Phil Pask, who is now physio to the England rugby team.

Ex-Northampton Town footballers Chris Willmott, Craig Hinton and Kevin Wilson will also return to Sixfields, while former Northants cricketers Ben Canham and Jeremy Snape will feature too.

The full list, which is subject to change, is The Leon Barwell All-Stars team (in white shirts sponsored by Moore Stephens), includes Matt Dawson, Ian Sampson, Jason Crowe, Neil Grayson, Craig Hinton, Carl Heggs, Kevin Wilson, Devon Malcolm, Nigel Felton, Jeremy Snape, Ben Cohen, Harvey Thorneycroft, Jason Robinson, Paul Diggin, Ben Barwell and the Chron & Echo competition winner.

The Leon Barwell Legends (in blue shirts sponsored by the University of Northampton) include Tim Rodber, Nick Beal, Ray Warburton, Martin Smith, Sean Parrish,

Andy Holt, Lee Colkin, Chris Willmott, Allan Lamb, Mal Loye, Tony Penberthy, Phil Pask, Mike Catt, Jon Phillips, Henry Barwell and Ashley Bewick.

The mascot for the day will be is Hayden Ebsworth.Dr David Stock and physiotherapists Dennis Casey and Bill McKay will also be on-site to deal with any scrapes and bruises.