Conservative candidate for Northampton North says his party will deliver a “strong economy”

Michael Ellis launched his election campaign at the Conservative Club in St Georges Avenue
Michael Ellis launched his election campaign at the Conservative Club in St Georges Avenue

Conservative candidate for Northampton North Michael Ellis said he believes the key issue in the upcoming General Election will be the economy.

Mr Ellis, who won the seat in 2010 with a majority of 1,936, officially launched his 2015 campaign at the St George’s Avenue Conservative club on Saturday.

Mr Ellis, who was joined in Northampton by Work and Pensions minister Iain Duncan Smith, said his campaign had started “the day after he won the won the election in 2010.”

He said: “This is a crucial seat. It is a key marginal and I don’t believe in just electioneering in the year or so prior to the election

“The key issue has to be our economy. The country’s economy is what pays for our valuable public services. I care about our NHS, our schools, our roads and our public services but it costs money to pay for them and that is why we have to have a Conservative government which would pay for our strong economy and pay for our cherished public services.”

A Lord Ashcroft poll last November predicted that Labour would take the seat, mainly due to a sharp increase in the UKIP vote taking away a portion of the Conservative vote.

Mr Ellis said: “It is important people bear in mind that a vote for Nigel Farage could result on waking up with Ed Miliband. Their votes are going to be crucial in this seat in particular where it is going to make a big difference.

“We have a new railway station, extra millions of pound invested in our roads, we have seen investment in Waterside Enterprise zone.

“I would like to see the town further progressing. More continued improvements, what is going to happen with the university move will be very exciting.”

The other candidates for the Northampton North seat are Sally Keeble (Labour) Tony Clarke (Green) Tom Rubython (UKIP) and Angela Paterson (Lib Dem).