Several companies in the county have been contacted by an organisation calling itself the European Domain Bureau, based in Wales.
The group claims to be helping out companies by informing them that other website addresses, similar to theirs, are bei
ng used by other parties and ask for payment to remove them from the worldwide web.
Document Genetics, in Sywell, has been contacted by the fraudsters and Trading Standards are also aware of several other companies in the region which have been targeted.
Steve Benarr, from the business communications firm, said: "The company claimed to be informing us about attempts by a third party to register our website, but with .net and .org.
"Luckily we found out that the company is basically just a scam and have so far ignored their attempts to get in touch with us.
"Businesses need to be made aware that this is one big con and that they shouldn't be duped into paying the firm anything so that these domains do not get registered elsewhere."
The official domain registering organisation is the European Domain Centre.
A warning is posted on their official website instructing businesses to be wary of any approach by the 'Bureau'.
A spokeswoman for Northamptonshire County Council Trading Standards, which monitors consumer issues, said: "We are aware of this and have had several inquiries from local businesses.
"It does appear to be a scam and if people are concerned we ask them to get in touch with trading standards."
"Our advice is to be aware and not to be pressured into anything you're not happy about."
If you have any concerns contact Trading Standards on Northampton 707909.
james.hall@northantsnews.co.uk